Spaghetti Squash Bake

Squash is absolutely my most favourite vegetable ever! Not only is it in season in my favourite season, FALL, it’s absolutely delicious! It’s kind of a weird obsession haha sometime I will bake a whole acorn squash and eat the whole thing by myself for lunch haha but I am honestly not ashamed of that.

I’ve always been a bit unsure about spaghetti squash. Pretty much because the first time I tried to cook it, it was a disaster but definitely not this time! This was really yummy and a recipe that is going in my cook book 🙂 After all, I wouldn’t share recipes with you all if I didn’t love them 🙂

Source: The Kitchen Is My Playground

What You Need:

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/4 tsp. ground black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp. crushed red pepper
  • 2 (28 oz.) cans whole tomatoes, drained and coarsely chopped
  • 1 tsp. dried oregano
  • 1 tsp. dried thyme
  • Parmesan Cheese

What You Need To Do:

To Cook The Squash:

2014-09-10 14.49.422014-09-10 14.54.09

  • Preheat oven to 400.
  • Cut the squash in half, length-wise and take out the seeds with a spoon.
  • Lay the squash on a baking sheet cut-face down and pierce several holes in the skin with a knife.
  • Cook for 45mins and then flip squash for another 45 mins.

To Make The Sauce:

2014-09-10 15.26.58

Heat olive oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.  Add garlic and cook for about 2 minutes, stirring frequently.  Add salt, black pepper, crushed red pepper, tomatoes, oregano, and thyme.  Bring to a boil.  Then reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes, or until thickened, stirring occasionally.

For the Spaghetti Squash Bake:

  • Place spaghetti squash ‘noodles’ in a baking dish sprayed with cooking spray.  Pour sauce evenly over squash.  Place cheese on top of sauce
  • Bake at 400 degrees for 40 to 45 minutes, or until heated through, bubbly, and lightly browned.

I’m not a cheese lover so I made half of the bake with cheese on it (a mixture of oregano and parmesan cheese) for Evan and the other cheese-less half for me. This bake lasted us two days so perfect for the young married couple on a strict budget!

3 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash Bake

Leave a Reply

