Confidence is Better than Hoping

The other day God answered one of my prayers. It caught me off guard. Not because He answered but rather I realized that my confidence in God is lacking.

My husband and I work about a 25 minute drive from where we live and usually we only have to travel there 2 – 3 times per week because we only work part time. This week, however is an extremely busy week as we are heading up Daily Vacation Bible School, we have Youth Group and we have meetings. So in total, we have to travel to work 8 times. Four times the usual.

Well, I was a bit concerned about gas and how we were going to put gas in our tank and stay within our budget. So I prayed that God would somehow help us put gas in our tank this week. I had no idea where the money was going to come from but I still prayed that God would help somehow.

Surprisingly, our credit card has been a blessing. Every time we spend $1 we get points and after so many points, you are able to redeem the points for money, gift cards or merchandise. We had enough points to get $50 gas gift card…however, the shipping time was 4 – 6 weeks L not so helpful in out time of need.

A few days later, Evan came upstairs from our mailbox with a grey envelope with my name on it. It was the $50 gift card! The shipping took an unusual few days when it was suppose to take 4 – 6 weeks! Coincidence? I think not!

I didn’t just “happen” to pray that God would help us with gas money this week. We didn’t just “happen” to have enough points on our credit card to redeem it for a $50 gas gift card. The gas card didn’t just “happen” to arrive within a few days of ordering when it should have taken 4 – 6 weeks. The gas card didn’t just “happen” to arrive the week before we needed help with gas.

What I am trying to get at is this: when I see answers to pray in my life, there are to many factors for me to justify the answer to prayer with coincidence. This recent answer to prayer in my life is too specifically answered to justify it with coincidence. I can only justify that specific answer to prayer by turning to God.

When we pray and we ask God to help us with something, we often do not have confidence in God. In other words, we “hope” that He will answer our prayers rather than having confidence that He will answer our prayers.

Having said this, answers to prayer most of the time do not always look like how we want them to be answered. For example, a loved one may be sick and we may ask God to heal that person and then they die. I don’t consider this an unanswered prayer but rather God healed that loved one in a different way. If they went to heaven after dying, they would be healed as they would be free of pain and sickness. Sometimes God says no too. We just have to have an open mind when we pray.

We need to trust God. We need to pray and be open to whatever way He may answer our prayers. It is His will, not our own.

Leave a Reply

