Homemade Vicks With Coconut Oil

Okay so I don’t have a cold right now so there isn’t an immediate reason I am posted this DIY other than the fact that I want to share it with you!

The last time I had a cold (probably about 6 months ago), I was searching online for a homemade Vick’s rub simply because money was tight and if I had the ingredients to make it myself, it was going to happen.

Upon doing my research, I stumbled across the fact that Vick’s is really not such a good idea. I have discovered that it contains PETROLEUM! Do you realize what that is?!?! Petroleum is a liquid mixture of hydrocarbons that is extracted and refined to produce fuels including gasoline, kerosene, oil and diesel oil. EWW! That cannot be good for your body. Not to mention, Vick’s rub is actually banned in some countries so that just speaks for itself! Imagine the crap you are putting on your skin that seeps into your pores! No thank you!

This recipe for your homemade Vick’s rub is simply and effective. All you need is: coconut and essential oil of your choice. I use Eucalyptus oil simply because I find it the most effective when you have a cold. I usually put some on my and on my nose before I go to bed.

Directions: Begin with Tbsp of coconut oil and just add a few drops of essential oil into it until it is at the strength that you wish J You really don’t need very much so use sparingly. Also, make sure you do not get it in your eyes or in your mouth because of the essential oil. Store in a well-sealed contained in the fridge.

I find this stuff is so great J And so natural! So the next time you find yourself with a cold and are all stuffed up, give this recipe a shot!

Leave a Reply

