Our Soul’s Need Nourishment Too

Taking care of the body that God has given you is so very important because He lives within us. Some people forget that part of our body is the soul and so we often neglect the soul. As a result, many find themselves feeling lost or like there is something missing…like “there must be more to life”. There is more.

I believe that feeling of being lost of feeling like we don’t belong comes from a neglected, undernourished soul. If we don’t feed it, of course it is going to suffer. If we didn’t feed our bodies with good food, our physical bodies would be undernourished as well. Think about it. It makes sense. Matthew 4:4 says, “It is written, man shall not live on bread alone, but on every word that comes from the mouth of God.” In other words, we cannot only feed our physical bodies and neglect our souls…our souls need food and that food comes from spending time with God (through prayer – talking with Him) and reading the Bible.

Before I became a Christian, I had this intense fear of death. Of course, I grew up going to Sunday School and Youth Group but I never committed to having a relationship with Jesus Christ. I didn’t really understand what that meant. I feared death like many people in the world mainly because I wasn’t sure of what would come next. I knew about heaven but I was constantly asking myself, “how do you know for sure if you are going to go to heaven or not?”

That question soon disappeared from my thoughts when I committed to having a relationship with Christ. Meaning, I prayed to God that He would come live within my heart. With a genuine heart, I told Him that I believed with all my heart that He died for me on the cross so that if I choose to believe in Him, I will have eternal life.

Christianity isn’t a religion, it’s about being in a relationship with Christ as He dwells within my heart. He guides me each and every day. He is my friend. Because He dwells within my body, I do my very best to take care of the body God has given me. He also nourishes my soul. I don’t fear death anymore. I have a peace in my heart that is unexplainable. Only those who also have Christ living within their heart would be able to understand. It’s a peace beyond all understanding.

As I nourish my soul by having a relationship with Christ, He guides me. He has guided me to where I am today. The only way I can explain that is by believing that He closes doors and opens doors to new opportunities. Revelation 3:7-8 says, “these are the words of him who is holy and true, who holds the key of David. What he opens no one can shut, and what he shuts no one can open. I know your deeds. See, I have placed before you an open door that no one can shut. I know that you have little strength, yet you have kept my word and have not denied my name.”

I know this because things have happened in my life that cannot be justified as coincidences but rather can only be justified by pointing to God. For example, when Evan and I were trying to decide whether or not to continue our education at a Masters level, we didn’t want to pursue it unless we had financial help somehow. Feeling overwhelmed one night as to what we should do, we prayed together one night and specifically said to God, “If this is where you want us to be (Acadia Divinity School for the Master of Divinity program) then provide financially.” The very next day, we were accepted into the school with $4000 renewable scholarships each. A few months later, just before school started, we were both offered a job as team Youth Pastors at a local church (and they approach us to send them a resume). Coincidence? I can’t buy it. By leaning on God, He has guided us to where we are today. He opens doors and He closes doors.

As humans, we are made of mind, body and spirit. It is so important to take care of all three and make a point not to neglect any of them.

2 thoughts on “Our Soul’s Need Nourishment Too

Leave a Reply

