Coconut Oil: The Secret to Growing Hair Long and Beautiful :) (and it’s natural!)

About a year ago I started growing my hair out and my hair has grown really fast….thanks to coconut oil! I initially started putting coconut oil in my hair as a leave in conditioner and then discovered how healthy my hair was looking and how fast it was growing!

When I first started using coconut oil in my hair, I would put it all through my hair but it would just make it really greasy. Through trial and error, and much reading, I have found that putting coconut oil at the ends of my hair after I wash my hair is ideal. Hair growth comes from the root of the hair but unlike common belief, some girls have difficulty growing their hair out because the ends of their hair are not being taken care of. If you use heat on your hair or haven’t had a trim in awhile, the hair begins to split and break off which makes it nearly impossible for those damaged pieces of hair to continue to grow.

So why is coconut oil so effective in growing out long beautiful hair?

When you put coconut oil on your hair, it completely fills the hair. If you looked at a strand of hair under a microscope, you would discover it is like a tube…when coconut oil is on the hair, it fills the shaft (also gives your hair a fuller look with more body).

Coconut oil also protects the hair from possible damage from fatigue (when the hair becomes damaged from swelling and shrinking due to water retention and absorption).

Weak and damaged hair may be a result of protein loss and coconut oil reduces protein loss immensely.

Coconut oil also protects the harm from heat and environment damage.

All in all, coconut oil is a keeper in growing your hair out really fast! After you wash your hair, put a dime size amount of coconut oil on your finger (not too much, a little goes a long way!) and run it through the ends of your hair and let it air dry.

The results speak for itself:

My hair May 2013:

21175_10152821595175541_1359341062_n

My hair August 2014: 

10553423_801200729900802_3108928634249192501_n

What are you waiting for? Go grow your hair out! Naturally 🙂 

2 thoughts on “Coconut Oil: The Secret to Growing Hair Long and Beautiful :) (and it’s natural!)

Leave a Reply

