An Apple a Day Keeps the Doctor Away! :)

Natural foods in their pure form are a beautiful creation from God. If you think about it, all the fruit and veggies, herbs and spices are just wonderfully tasty and they all have their own unique health benefits and nutrients for our bodies. It is how God created us to eat, food in their natural form…God did not make processed foods, that’s all man-made and it gives no nutrients to our bodies, which we need to live healthy lives. I believe whole-heartedly that if we take care of our bodies with food and exercise, always being mindful that God creates us in His image, that He is living within us and that He wants us to enjoy life and enjoy it to the fullest, then we can at least live our lives with peace, comfort and joy.

One of the natural foods that have been my obsession lately is Apple Cider Vinegar. Ever hear of the saying, “An apple a day keeps the doctor away”? There’s definitely truth to that because apples are just naturally good for you, full of goodness for your body, inside and out!

Photo on 2014-08-02 at 12.23 PM

When I say “out”, I mean it can be used externally as a toner for your skin. Within the past year I have been struggling with breakouts on my face, neck and behind my ears and nothing seemed to clear my skin except for Apple Cider Vinegar. Before I tell you more of the homemade toner I use that works wonderfully for my skin, let’s talk about why it is so great for you.

Vinegar comes from a process of fermentation. In the case of apples, the sugars naturally found in apples are broken down by bacteria and yeast. The sugars turn to alcohol and eventually when it breaks down further, it turns into vinegar which comes from the French which means “sour wine”.

When using apple cider vinegar, it is important that it is raw organic apple cider vinegar that contains the “mother” because if it is anything else, the nutrients of the natural product has been processed out of it. The “mother” in the raw apple cider vinegar can be seen gathered at the bottom of the bottle which is made up of living nutrients and bacteria, which is why it is so good for the body. It is made up of strand-like enzymes of connected protein molecules with living nutrients and bacteria. Any vinegar that does not have this has been stripped of its nutrients and if consumed too much can actually be detrimental to your health because it is considered dead instead of alive (the “mother”) as is found in raw apple cider

The nutrients found in raw apple cider vinegar with the “mother” include:

  • Potassium which helps fight against brittle teeth, hair lose and runny noses. This is key for growth, muscle growth, transmission of nerve impulses, heart activity, etc.
  • Pectin which helps regulate blood pressure and reduce bad cholesterol.
  • Malic acid, which helps apple cider vinegar be resistant to viruses, bacteria and fungus.
  • Calcium, which supports strong bones and teeth.
  • Ash gives apple cider giver an alkaline property, which helps the body maintain proper pH levels.
  • Acetic acid, which can help lower the rise of glucose. (This mineral is particularly important if you drink a lot of wine or coffee).
  • A few studies have also found that apple cider vinegar may be able to kill cancer cells or slow their growth.

Now that it has been established that raw organic apple cider vinegar is SUPER good for you, the smell of the stuff takes some getting used to. As my dad says after I put the toner on at night, “You smell like sour feet”. Despite that, it works so well in clearing up the skin of discoloration, blemishes, helps balance out the pH levels in the skin immensely, softens the skin, exfoliates the skin, reduces red marks and treats acne on the face and body.

So why does apple cider vinegar works so well to clear one’s skin? Skin is naturally acidic; everyone has a protective layer of oil on the outer surface of their skin. But each time you wash your face or apply a product, you are disputing the skin’s natural pH levels, which leads to breakouts, discoloration, acne and dry skin. This is where the hero comes in: APPLE CIDER VINEGAR! 🙂 

The acidity found in apple cider vinegar helps to bring the skin’s pH levels back to a normal level which is ultimately restoring your skin back to ultimate health. With the skin functioning at an optimal level, your skin can ward off bacteria and shed dead skin cells at a normal rate so it opens up your pores and the skins is healthy again! 

 To make your own apple cider vinegar, you will need:

  • Empty bottle or container
  • Filtered water
  • Raw organic apple cider vinegar with “mother” (I use Omega Nutrition Raw Organic Apple Cider Vinegar…and its only about $5 in the natural foods aisle at the grocery store!) 

images

 I bought a squeeze bottle from the dollar store and sterilized it with hot water. I then filled half the bottle with apple cider vinegar and half with filtered water from my Brita. To use it, I squeeze some on a cotton pad and wipe it all over my face (avoid the eyes), behind my ears and on my neck after I have washed and dried my face. Basically, put it anywhere you seem to have troubled skin. I do this every night before bed and within a week, I saw a huge difference in my skin. Before doing this, it is VERY important that you dilute the apple cider vinegar because it is very acidic and it could do damage over time.

Photo on 2014-08-02 at 12.25 PM

(Notice the “mother” at the bottom of the bottle) 

 

I am no longer breaking out behind my ears and neck and my skin is no longer discolored. When I wear make up, I do not even have to wear cover-up to even out the color of my skin. It stinks but the results are worth it J

Leave a Reply

